Do What You Pin: Cinnamon Chicken

Even though it’s the beginning of summer, I’ve been craving fall flavors for the past few days. I ate an entire full-size bag of vegetable chips the other night – not the healthiest way to fulfill a craving. Tonight I remembered that I recently pinned a recipe for cinnamon chicken from Paleo Diet Lifestyle, so I decided to make myself an autumn meal in May.

I started by putting together the rub for the chicken. I was cooking for one, so I only used three thighs, but I decided not to halve the rub – I really like cinnamon and garlic! I’m sometimes sensitive to onions, so I added an extra clove of garlic to the rub and omitted the onions from the recipe.

IMG_1490

Once it was mixed together, the rub smelled surprisingly like applesauce. It inspired me to experiment with a savory garlic applesauce sometime soon – perhaps as a topping for potato pancakes.

Next, I covered the chicken thighs with the rub!

IMG_1489

The chicken needs to sit in the seasoning for a bit, so I seized the opportunity to chop up some yam and pumpkin. Ovens here in Hong Kong aren’t typically included in kitchens, so I use a toaster oven instead. The veggies won’t fit at the same time as the chicken, so I quickly tossed them in coconut oil, salt, and pepper, and threw them into the oven to roast while the chicken soaked up the cinnamon goodness. I like pumpkin best when it’s sautéed in butter, but for the sake of time and health, I decided coconut oil would be tonight’s method. While the veggies cooked, I ran down the hall to throw in a load of laundry. Multitasking!

IMG_1487

Once the veggies were done, I took them out and put in the chicken. I fought the urge to take the chicken out as soon as it was cooked through because I wanted the skin to get extra crispy. I took the advice of the recipe and added a little water to the pan toward the end to keep everything moist.

IMG_1488

Voila! Autumn on a plate! The meal was delicious and a great way to fill up if you’re on the paleo diet but need some healthy carbs. I’m not paleo, but I try to eat at least one paleo meal a day as training for the Whole30 I’d like to do soon.

I love making the recipes I pin!  It feels like checking something off of a seriously fun to-do list. If you’d like to try the meal for yourself, check out the recipe here, or you can check out other recipes I’ve pinned.

What seasonal favorites do you enjoy year-round?

Leave a Reply

