Sweet Tooth Salad

Before I went sugar free a few months ago, I had a major sweet tooth. I would crave white chocolate, cinnamon rolls, ice cream – you name it, I wanted it. Every day.

Now that I’ve stopped eating sugar, my cravings have taken on a different form. When I want something sweet, my first thoughts are sweet fruits and veggies – pear, apple, pumpkin, sweet potato, blueberries. Colorful, healthy, REAL foods.

I created this salad when I wanted a sweet lunch that still packed a huge nutritional punch. I call it my Sweet Tooth Salad.

Start by washing about two cups of spinach. If mine looks a little different than what you’re used to it’s because it’s Chinese spinach. This wasn’t a culinary choice, it’s just what’s available here in Hong Kong!

20130530-123022.jpg
Next, I added some chickpeas. They’re not the sweetest of foods, but still a yummy way to add some protein to this vegetarian lunch.

20130530-134000.jpg
Now for the sweet stuff! The night before, I sautéed some pumpkin in butter while I made my dinner. It’s an easy way to make pumpkin even sweeter without using any sugar. If you want to make this salad vegan, you can use olive or coconut oil instead. If you’re a fan of onions, I recommend sautéing onions with the pumpkin for some nice caramelization. Yum!

20130530-134141.jpg
I threw in the pumpkin and a chopped apple…

20130530-134303.jpg
…and topped it off with shredded carrot, the juice of half a lemon, and some olive oil.

20130530-143956.jpg
I have an intolerance to vinegar, but if you want a more flavorful dressing, I recommend skipping the lemon and olive oil and using a honey vinaigrette instead. You can find a simple recipe here. On the other hand, if you can’t tolerate any acidic foods, go ahead and leave the lemon out. It will be plenty tasty with the olive oil!

Toss it all together with some salt and pepper, and you have a delicious, healthy, SWEET, sugar-free lunch.

20130530-144332.jpg

Leave a Reply

