Summer Wardrobe Update!

I buy single items of clothing fairly often, but about once a season I allow myself to go on a shopping spree. I stick to inexpensive stores, so the sprees rarely total much over $100 USD, but I come home with several pieces to update my wardrobe. I usually go knowing exactly what I’m looking for and then end up being surprised by a few items as well.

I went on my summer shopping spree this weekend! I bought seven pieces and the entire haul only set me back $668 HKD ($85 USD), which I consider a major success. Let’s take a look at what I bought!

20130602-192417.jpg

I started at Forever 21. This top is one of the items I set out to buy when I decided to go shopping. The tie in the front reminds me so much of my childhood clothes from the early ’90s. I was expecting to find a basic white version, but got an extra bonus with the metal detail on the collar.

The polka dot shorts are something I never expected to buy – I used to hate polka dots! I’ve seen a few polka dot pieces I really liked recently, so I decided to give them a try. The turquoise color definitely helped to win me over – such a fun summery shade! I can’t wait to wear this on my upcoming trip to Shanghai! The perfect outfit for a fashionable tourist.

20130602-193125.jpg
I’ve been lusting after necklaces like this pink one for a while now. When I realized how adorable it would look with the turquoise polka dot shorts, I was sold. I find long necklaces to be super useful because they can make an extremely casual outfit (think jeans and a plain gray t-shirt) look well thought out. This white and blue one will go well with many of the clothes already in my closet.

20130602-193657.jpg
My final piece from Forever 21 was the small satchel I shared here. I just love this little guy!

I still wanted to find a short, flirty skirt and couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for. I decided to take my search to Cotton On, where I had seen skirts that fit that description a few months ago.

20130602-194419.jpg
Lo and behold, they still had the skirts I had seen earlier, now marked down to $49 HKD ($6 USD) a piece! What a deal! The colors are more obvious choices for winter, but I think they’ll work splendidly year round. I bought two!

I hope you enjoyed surveying my latest wardrobe update! What new pieces do you want to add to your wardrobe this summer?

3 thoughts on “Summer Wardrobe Update!

    • Isn’t it great? The crazy thing is I’ve wanted this bed for years, but it actually came with my boyfriend’s furnished apartment. I guess that means we were meant to be, haha.

Leave a Reply

