Apple Mint Quinoa Salad

Although I have to avoid acidic foods, I’ve been experimenting with lemon and lime juice lately. I’ve found that I can handle a little bit each day, and it doesn’t take much to add a huge boost of flavor to my food.

This recipe came about because I had leftover produce that I needed to use up! It was so tasty that I’ll definitely make it again – and on purpose next time!

Apple Mint Quinoa Salad

Serves 2

2 cups cooked quinoa, cooled
1 apple, red or green
1 avocado
Leaves from 3 sprigs of mint
Juice of 1 calamansi, or 1/2 regular lime
Extra virgin olive oil (optional)

Chop the apple into 1/2 inch cubes. Squeeze half of the lime juice onto the apple, stir to coat, and set aside.

Halve the avocado. Slice the flesh of both halves into small cubes before scooping it out and mixing with the apple.

Finely chop the mint leaves and add to the apple avocado mixture.

Combine the apple avocado mixture with the cooled quinoa and toss with the remaining lemon juice. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil if desired.

20130604-124929.jpg
What recipes have you discovered while trying to use up the food in your fridge?

Leave a Reply

