Easy Blender Tzatziki Sauce and a Leftover Remake!

I had some delicious falafel left over from my Middle Eastern meal a few days ago, but I wanted to switch things up a little since I wasn’t a huge fan of the avocado tahini sauce I made to go with them originally. Tzatziki sauce seemed like a natural fit.

I’d never made tzatziki before, so I looked through several recipes before creating my own. I tend I treat cooking like a research project, pulling from several different sources and coming to my own original conclusion. In this case, my thesis statement is the following:

To arrive at the desired combination of creaminess and varied texture within a tzatziki sauce that is flavorful but not time consuming to produce, one portion of the cucumber should be incorporated into the sauce with a blender or food processor, while another, smaller portion should be kept whole and stirred into the mixture by hand.

Writing that thesis was waaaay too fun for me; maybe I should think about graduate school. Anyyyyway, the meal turned out great! I served the falafel and tzatziki over a bed of sautéed spinach.

20130616-143831.jpg

20130616-144008.jpg

20130616-144020.jpg
Not one for wastefulness, I saved the cucumber water I squeezed out and combined it with water an a small dollop of honey for a refreshing beverage!

20130616-144207.jpg

Allison’s Tzatziki Sauce

Makes 1 and 1/2 cups

1 medium cucumber, grated and divided
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 clove garlic, minced
juice of 1/2 small lemon
heaping tablespoon dill
1 tablespoon olive oil (or to taste)
salt and pepper to taste

Grate the cucumber and squeeze out the excess water.

Set aside a handful of the grated cucumber and add the rest to the blender. Add yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, and dill and blend well.

Using a fork, mix in the remaining cucumber, olive oil, salt and pepper.

This recipe has been shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

