Do What You Pin: Almond Flour Pancakes and Blueberry Sauce

Since I stopped eating sugar and gluten I haven’t had pancakes. I knew that I could make gluten-free pancakes pretty easily, but for me, pancakes are all about the toppings and I didn’t know what I would use!

I recently started to allow myself a little bit of honey, so when I came across this recipe for Chunky Blueberry Sauce I knew I had my solution! I decided to make myself a rather decadent breakfast of Almond Flour Pancakes topped with this delicious stuff.

The recipes were both incredible easy to prepare. For the sauce, I put blueberries, honey, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a saucepan, brought it to a boil, and turned it down to simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

20130617-135640.jpg
I mashed up some of the blueberries as the sauce cooked.

For the pancakes, I simply mixed almond flour, egg, and milk and cooked them up in some butter, just like regular pancakes.

20130617-140022.jpg
What I ended up with was fantastic. The almond flour pancakes weren’t sweet at all, but the blueberry sauce was incredibly sweet and rich. They work so well together!

20130617-140155.jpg

20130617-140237.jpg
I highly recommend this recipe for a quick and easy weekend breakfast!

As always, you can check out what I’ve pinned here.

One thought on “Do What You Pin: Almond Flour Pancakes and Blueberry Sauce

  1. Pingback: Hooray for the weekend! | fulfilled

Leave a Reply

