Cornish Hens in a Toaster Oven

I did something really exciting Tuesday morning. I’d been mulling over it for a while, but fear kept holding me back.

20130618-102021.jpg
That’s right! I threw away all the medicines I was prescribed last year when my health issues began. I only took these medicines for a couple months because they caused horrendous side effects. Half of them, actually, were prescribed in order to hide the side effects of the other half, and some of that second tier of medicine actually caused side effects of its own. Top that off with the fact that none of them truly helped the original problem. What a mess! I haven’t taken any of them in in over six months, so I decided it was time. I’m a happy girl.

So what’s my medicine now? Food! Here’s a perfect example from Monday night:

20130618-102546.jpg
I was so happy with the blend of seasoning on this Cornish game hen. The prep was so easy, although cooking it became a bit of a project thanks to my tiny kitchen.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t actually have an oven. I do all of my cooking in a toaster oven. To clarify, here’s a picture of my kitchen:

20130618-111536.jpg
That’s it. The entire thing. The oven is that little rectangle with the kettle on top!

A Cornish game hen seemed like a great option because I figured it would fit into the toaster oven. I was wrong. I ended up having to cut it in half and cook it in two shifts. Luckily, I was cooking for one, so I ate the first half while I cooked the second half, which ended up in my lunch box the next day.

Measurements aren’t necessary for this recipe. Just rub olive oil all over your halved hen and coat with generous amounts of salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, parsley, and basil.

Stick the hen halves into the toaster oven and cook away! I cooked each half for 30 minutes (yes, that’s right, my oven doesn’t even have temperature settings).

20130618-112540.jpg
The moral of the story is you do NOT need a good kitchen to make a good dinner. I bought my toaster oven from a friend for $20 HK (that’s $3 USD) and I use it to cook up delicious meals on the regular.

What kitchen limitations do you work your way around?

One thought on “Cornish Hens in a Toaster Oven

Leave a Reply

