Hong Kong Style Cabbage and Eggs

I can’t believe it’s been a month since I started seriously tossing around the idea of this blog! I didn’t intend to post every day, but after a few days of doing so, I realized that the habit was giving me something to think about and focus on – a creative outlet with some structure! I’m so grateful to everyone who has read and shared their feedback.

I’ve been experiencing some new health struggles over the past week, and cooking and this blog have given me something positive to focus on. Having a healthy distraction is so important, and every “like” and comment I receive here encourages me to keep going and focus on the good stuff. 🙂

After a somewhat discouraging morning earlier in the week, I was looking for some comfort food for lunch. My old standby was a peanut butter sandwich, but I thought I could do a little bit better than that – like, something with at least one vegetable. I had half a cabbage in the fridge, so I decided to make a simple Chinese style dish.
20130624-122232.jpg
I stir-fried the cabbage and put it on white rice with two fried eggs. That’s it! This super simple dish is the kind of thing I see all the time at the hole-in-the-wall local eateries lining Hong Kong’s side streets. It’s delicious, quick and easy to prepare, and about as economical as you can get!

20130624-122249.jpg

Hong Kong Style Cabbage and Eggs

makes one serving

1 cup cooked white rice
1/2 medium cabbage, shredded
1 tablespoon pure sesame oil
1 and 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
2 tablespoons coconut aminos or tamari
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
2 eggs
salt and pepper

Heat sesame oil and one tablespoon olive oil over medium heat. Add minced garlic and ginger and stir fry until fragrant, about one minute. Add cabbage and coconut aminos, stirring frequently until cabbage is softened to your liking, about four minutes.

Remove cabbage from pan and place on top of cooked white rice on your serving plate. Add remaining 1/2 tablespoon olive oil to the skillet and fry eggs with salt and pepper.

Serve the eggs on top of the cabbage and rice. Season with additional coconut aminos as desired.

Leave a Reply

