Mesquite Cinnamon Smoothie

One of my favorite parts of blogging about my “fulfilled” lifestyle is discovering new ingredients on the blogs of like-minded eaters. On my last trip to the health food store, I came across mesquite powder. I’d read about this superfood, which has a nutty, caramel-like flavor, on a few blogs, and decided to give it a try.

20130701-104518.jpg
Since I’ve never had it before, I wasn’t exactly sure what type of recipes I wanted to create with it. I decided to start with a smoothie this morning.

20130701-104656.jpg
I used coconut milk, banana, yogurt, ice, mesquite powder, and ground cinnamon in my smoothie. If you want to make a vegan or dairy-free version, you could do it easily by leaving out the yogurt and adding a little extra banana. If you want a thicker smoothie, start with cold coconut milk so you don’t need the ice!

The end result was creamy and satisfying, although I wasn’t able to completely pick out the flavor of the mesquite. I may just have to try a small taste of this stuff straight-up so I can figure out what else I want to use it in!

Mesquite Cinnamon Smoothie

1 cup coconut milk
1 large banana
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1 tbsp mesquite powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, plus more to top
4-6 ice cubes

Combine ingredients in blender. Serve topped with additional cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

