Whole30 Beef Stew

Once a week, I get to leave work in the early afternoon. I usually head into the city for yoga, but every now and then I come home and have a lazy afternoon reading, watching TV or movies, and relaxing. On those days, I love making beef stew. Hanging out at home while the aroma of slowly cooking meat and veggies fills the room is such a blissful escape from the usual routine.

I started my first Whole30 this week, so I’ve been spending a lot of time planning meals that will be hearty and filling even though they don’t contain any grains,legumes, or dairy. I tend to get a lot of my calories from those sources, and since weight loss is not one of my Whole30 goals, I have to make sure to plan substantial meals! Beef stew seemed like a great place to start.

20130704-214546.jpg

Typically, I make my beef stew with carrots and celery as the main vegetables and have a piece of gluten free bread or some rice on the side. Since that’s off limits during my Whole30, I decided to add pumpkin to fill out the stew a little more.

If you are making this stew while doing a Whole30 and decide to use store-bought broth, make sure it doesn’t contain added sugar!

Whole30 Beef Stew

Serves 2

.75 lb stew beef (I recommend chuck roast)
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 small onion, roughly chopped
2 whole cloves garlic, peeled
1 bay leaf
1 cup water, divided
1 cup beef broth, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1 large carrot, chopped
1 large celery rib, chopped
1 cup cubed pumpkin

Brown beef in hot olive oil in medium-large saucepan. Once beef is browned on all sides, add 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup beef broth, onion, garlic, bay leaf, salt, pepper, and paprika and bring to a boil. Cover and lower to a simmer for 1 and 1/2 hours.

Add additional 1/2 cup water,1/2 cup broth, carrots, and celery. Return to a simmer and cover for 20 minutes.

Add pumpkin, cover, and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

