Roasted Butternut Squash with Red Pepper Ragu

Comfort food is not the first thing that comes to mind for most people when they think of alternative diets, but this Whole30 compliant meal is the ultimate in comfort. It might just be that I haven’t eaten pasta in five months, but the creamy texture of the butternut squash was more satisfying than I remember pasta to be – and I felt healthy and energetic after eating it. None of that post-pasta sluggishness here!

20130710-175123.jpgTo make the sauce, I combined my favorite tried-and-true roasted red pepper sauce recipe with sautéed ground beef. When I make the red pepper sauce, I like to make a huge batch and save it in divided portions in the freezer. When I know I’ll need it, I move a portion to the fridge to defrost while I’m at work.

This is a great grain-free meal for anyone, whether you normally eat grains or not. And if you are grain-free, Paleo, or in the middle of a Whole30, this is the perfect meal for entertaining non-Paleo friends or getting your kids to enjoy a seriously healthy dish.

Roasted Butternut Squash with Red Pepper Ragu

Serves 4

1 large butternut squash halved and seeded
3 cups roasted red pepper sauce or Paleo spaghetti sauce of choice
1 lb. ground beef

If using homemade sauce, make your sauce before preparing the rest of the meal.

Place butternut squash halves face up on baking sheet and roast in the oven at 400F for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside to cool slightly.

While squash cools, brown ground beef in a skillet, adding the red pepper sauce when the meat is just cooked through. Stir until hot and bubbly and take saucepan off heat.

Remove skin from the squash and cut into small cubes, or use a small melon-baller to scoop out bite-sized pieces of squash. Serve covered with red pepper ragu.

5 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash with Red Pepper Ragu

      • Sweet, I am going to have to try this recipe. Do you have celiac disease or gluten allergies? I follow you because I do and noticed that all of your recipes are gluten free.

      • I’m so glad my recipes work for you!

        I eliminated gluten and all artificial ingredients and preservatives several months ago in order to see if it would help with the symptoms of a condition I have called Interstitial Cystitis. My symptoms were drastically reduced, although I’m still not sure if it is due to the elimination of gluten, preservatives, or some combination of the two. I’m just happy to be feeling healthy again!

      • Awesome! I am so happy to hear that you are feeling better. Sometimes our bodies have to heal and the more they heal the better we feel so keep up the cook work, the healthy eating and the good cooking.

Leave a Reply

